Maurice Sedwell

"The brute covers himself, the rich man and the fop adorn themselves, the elegant man dresses!"

-Honore de Balzac

DFR

Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:23 pm

Maurice Sedwell and proprietor Andrew Ramroop are often though thought of as amongst the best on Saville Row, if not the best. Whilst all descriptions of that ilk are subjective does anyone have any experience of him?

How would one describe his preferred house style of coat - 'soft' akin to Anderson and Shepherd and those trained by that firm or more to a military approach such as Gieves or Dege and Skinner?

How flexible is he or is he rooted in old fashioned ways despite some of his avant garde designs?

Whilst a visit to understand his ways is likely to be my best course of action, it would be interesting to learn of any experience and opinions anyone has beforehand.
J.S. Groot

Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:40 pm

I have no personal experience, but head cutter Davide Taub shows examples of his projects at http://davidetaub.blogspot.com/.

He appears to be very skilled, stylistic choices notwithstanding.
Occam's Razor

Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:01 am

I don't believe Andrew or Davide solemnly pronounce a set style, the so-called "house cut", to their customers. They rather find out what you are after and work from there so there is plenty of scope for collaboration if you are seeking this. Mind you, whenever I visit for a fitting or to decide on an order, there are many suits, jackets and overcoats hanging up, waiting for their owners, which are traditional in style and conservatively cut.

The majority of Davide Taub's posted works in his blog are made for his clients. Do ask to be shown some of their designs like the curved seams jackets. The pattern matching with bold checks running across the curved seams is impressive.